Cut List Software with Free DXF Export for CNC Routers (2026)
DXF is often locked behind a top tier. Here is which cut list optimizers include it free, which plan unlocks it on the rest, and what the file does and doesn’t give your CNC.
Lucas Watts
Founder, EZNESTING · Updated October 2026 · Competitor prices checked September 2026
In This Comparison
The Short Answer
As of September 2026, EZNESTING, optiCutter and CutOptim (with a free account) include DXF export on their free plans, and OpenCutList exports DXF free inside SketchUp. Cutlist Evolution puts DXF on its Expert plan, CutPlan on Pro ($29/month), CutList Plus fx on the $499 Platinum edition and CutLogic 2D on its Professional edition. CutList Optimizer and CutWize don't export DXF at all.
Updated October 2026. Every competitor fact below comes from the vendor's own pricing page, docs or app files, checked in late September 2026. Disclosure: I built EZNESTING, and its limits are listed below with everyone else's.
One scope note before the table. Everything here is a cut list optimizer: it arranges parts (mostly rectangles) on sheets or lengths and hands you a drawing. None of them is CAM. You still need VCarve, Fusion, Carbide Create or similar to turn the DXF into toolpaths and G-code. If you want the step-by-step of exporting and importing the file, see how to export DXF files for CNC. This post is about which tool to use.
DXF Export Compared
Competitor plans and prices as checked on each vendor's site in late September 2026.
| Tool | DXF on free plan? | Lowest plan with DXF | Linear (1D) layouts in DXF | Other export formats | Platform |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EZNESTING | Yes | Free | Yes | PDF, CSV, Excel | Browser |
| optiCutter | Yes | Free | Not stated | PDF, XLS, CSV | Browser |
| CutOptim | Yes, with free account | Free account | Not stated | SVG, Excel | Browser |
| OpenCutList | Yes (free tool) | Free | Yes (each bar exported) | SVG, CSV, XLSX, labels | SketchUp desktop, Mac and Windows |
| Cutlistor | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | Browser | |
| Cutlist Evolution | No | Expert | Not stated | SVG, PTX (Expert); CSV (Pro); PDF (free) | Browser |
| CutPlan | No | Pro, $29/mo | No linear mode | Not stated | Browser |
| CutList Plus fx | No (trial) | Platinum, $499 one-time | Not stated | Not stated | Windows |
| CutLogic 2D | No | Professional, $999 one-time | 1D is a separate product | G-code (paid) | Windows |
| MaxCut | Not listed | Not listed | No evidence of 1D | CSV (limited on free) | Windows |
| CutList Optimizer | No | No DXF on any plan | No linear mode | PDF, CSV, image | Browser |
| CutWize | No | No DXF on any plan | Lengths supported, no DXF | PDF, CSV from $7/mo | Browser |
"Not stated" means the vendor's own site didn't say, not that the feature is missing. Check before you rely on it.
What "DXF Export" Means in a Cut List Tool
A DXF from a cut list optimizer is a drawing of the layout, sheet by sheet. Depending on the tool and the options you tick, it can hold:
- Part outlines: a closed shape for each part, where it sits on the sheet
- Cut lines: straight lines for each saw or router pass between parts
- Labels: the part name or number as text
- The sheet boundary: the outline of the stock sheet
What it doesn't hold: bit diameter, depth of cut, feeds, speeds, tabs, lead-ins or the order of cuts. That's CAM's job. A cut list optimizer with DXF export saves you from redrawing the layout by hand in CAD, which is the slow, error-prone step it replaces.
Four details decide whether a DXF drops cleanly into your CAM:
- Closed shapes. Router profile toolpaths want closed outlines. Loose line segments have to be joined first.
- Units. The file should say whether it's in inches or millimetres, or your parts arrive 25.4 times too big or too small.
- Origin. CNC machines expect the bottom-left corner as zero. A top-left origin flips the layout.
- Version. R12 is the oldest and most widely read. Newer versions (R14 and up) support lightweight polylines. Almost all current CAM reads both.
The Tools with Free DXF
EZNESTING. DXF is on the free plan for both sheet and linear layouts. Each sheet (or stick) exports as its own file, zipped together when there's more than one. Files are R12, in the unit you choose (inches or millimetres). For sheets, each layer is optional: PARTS (each part as a closed polyline), SHEET, SAW_CUTS, LABELS and OFFCUTS, with a CNC preset (part outlines and sheet) and a panel-saw preset (cut lines and sheet), and the origin at the bottom-left corner of the sheet. Linear layouts export the stick, cut positions, part spans and labels on separate layers. PDF, CSV and Excel exports are free too. The free plan covers up to 5 part sizes and 3 stock sizes per job; Pro is $7.99/month or $79.99/year. Gap: no SVG, PTX or G-code, and rectangular parts only.
optiCutter. The free plan's export list reads "Export to PDF, XLS, CSV, DXF", the same as the paid plans. Free is limited to 5 stocks, 20 part sizes and 500 parts, with no daily cap. Where it wins: the most room on a free plan with DXF included.
CutOptim. "A free account adds Excel, DXF (AutoCAD, CNC) and SVG export", in R12 format "for maximum CAD compatibility". Gap: a free account gets 3 optimizations a month. Pro is €9/month, or 10 runs for €6.90.
OpenCutList. Free and open source. It exports cutting diagrams to SVG or DXF with "each panel (or bar)" in a separate file, so linear stock is covered too. Gap: it runs inside desktop SketchUp, so the parts have to come from a SketchUp model.
Where DXF Costs Extra
Cutlist Evolution. "Expert adds beam saw calculations, SVG/DXF/PTX export and unbranded exports." If you run a beam saw, the PTX file and saw settings are the real reason to pay, and this is the most machine-ready export set in the list. The free plan gives PDF only.
CutPlan. "DXF export and unlimited projects are Pro", at $29/month. The per-project packs ($9, or 5 for $32) don't include it. CutPlan also does true-shape nesting, which most of the other tools here don't.
CutList Plus fx. DXF export of diagrams is on the Platinum edition at $499 one-time. Silver ($89) and Gold ($249) don't include it. Windows only.
CutLogic 2D. DXF and G-code export are on the Professional ($999) and Enterprise ($1,999) editions, not the free Community edition. Windows only.
Cutlistor. Its site offers "DXF export for CNC — Download sheet and linear cut layouts as DXF files with closed polylines", but doesn't say which plan includes it. Pro is $12/month or $99/year; ask before paying.
MaxCut. A May 2026 release added "DXF Export Settings" to match your CNC or CAM software. The Community vs Business chart doesn't list DXF, so the tier is unclear. Windows only.
No DXF at all: CutList Optimizer (PDF, CSV and image only) and CutWize (PDF and CSV from the $7/month DIY plan).
A Typical Router Workflow
- Set kerf to your bit diameter. In the optimizer, the kerf setting is the gap left between parts. For a 1/4" compression bit, enter 1/4" so the layout leaves room for the cutter.
- Optimize, then export DXF with part outlines on (in EZNESTING, the CNC preset). For a router, profile the closed part outlines rather than the straight cut lines, which are laid out for a saw.
- Import into CAM, check the units, and set your zero at the bottom-left corner of the sheet.
- Assign toolpaths (profile outside the part line, tabs for small parts) and post G-code for your machine.
Start with a 4×8 sheet or, for tube and bar on a plasma table or saw, a 20 ft bar.
When You Need True-Shape Nesting Instead
Most cut list optimizers treat parts as rectangles. That's right for cabinet boxes, shelving, drawer parts, panels and blanks. It's wrong for curved chair parts, signs, brackets and gussets, where nesting the actual shapes saves real material.
For those jobs, look at a true-shape nester. Deepnest is free and open source and reads and writes DXF and SVG. The original project's last commit was in 2018, but a community fork (deepnest-next) is still being released. CutPlan includes a shape editor with curves, holes and SVG import, and OpenCutList 7 added a nesting mode for arbitrary shapes inside SketchUp. Deepnest works from drawings rather than a parts list with quantities, so it suits shapes you've already drawn, not a cabinet cut list.
Where EZNESTING Falls Short for CNC
- Not CAM. It exports geometry, not toolpaths or G-code.
- No SVG or PTX. Laser software that prefers SVG, or a beam saw that wants PTX, needs a different tool or a conversion step.
- Rectangular parts only. No true-shape nesting.
- Free plan size caps. Free covers up to 5 part sizes and 3 stock sizes per job.
- Young tool. It launched in 2026; the desktop incumbents have more years of shop use behind them.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I export a cut list to DXF for free? Yes. As of September 2026, EZNESTING, optiCutter and CutOptim (with a free account) include DXF export on their free plans, and OpenCutList, a free SketchUp extension, exports its cutting diagrams as DXF or SVG. CutList Optimizer and CutWize do not offer DXF export at all.
Does CutList Optimizer export DXF? No. As of September 2026, the CutList Optimizer web app (cutlistoptimizer.com) exports to CSV, PDF and an image. It has no DXF export, so for a CNC router you would redraw the layout or use a different optimizer.
Is a DXF from a cut list optimizer ready to cut on a CNC? No. A DXF from a cut list optimizer is geometry only: part outlines, cut lines and labels on a sheet. It contains no toolpaths, bit sizes, depths or feeds. You import it into CAM software such as VCarve or Fusion, assign toolpaths, and post G-code for your machine.
Which DXF version works best with CAM software? Most CAM software reads both R12 and newer DXF versions. R12 is the safest choice for older software. CutOptim exports R12, and so does EZNESTING, with sheet parts drawn as closed polylines. If a program rejects a newer file, open it in a CAD program and re-save it as R12.
Do I need true-shape nesting for a CNC router? Not for rectangular parts such as cabinet sides, shelves, drawer parts and panels; a cut list optimizer lays those out well and exports DXF. True-shape nesting matters for curved or irregular parts, where tools such as Deepnest (free, open source), CutPlan’s shape editor or OpenCutList’s nesting mode fit better.
Which paid plan do I need for DXF on each tool? As of September 2026: Cutlist Evolution puts DXF on its Expert plan, CutPlan on Pro at $29/month, CutList Plus fx on the $499 Platinum edition, and CutLogic 2D on its Professional and Enterprise editions. Cutlistor offers DXF but does not state which plan includes it, and MaxCut added DXF export settings in May 2026 without listing the tier.
The Bottom Line
If DXF is the reason you're shopping, you don't need a top-tier plan. optiCutter, CutOptim and EZNESTING include it free, and OpenCutList does if you use SketchUp. Pay for Cutlist Evolution's Expert plan if you need PTX for a beam saw, or CutPlan if your parts aren't rectangles.
For the wider comparison, including Mac support and linear cutting, see the best cut list optimizer software in 2026.
Topics
Get a DXF of Your Next Layout
Optimize sheets or linear stock and download DXF, PDF, CSV or Excel on the free plan. Free: unlimited optimizations, up to 5 part sizes and 3 stock sizes per job, with every optimizer feature included (kerf and trim, grain direction, edge banding, CSV/Excel/DXF import, and PDF, CSV, Excel and DXF export). No signup needed to try it.
Lay Out a Sheet for CNC